Cari Loves Crab Legs

Our dearest friends Kelsey and B-rad (who are also getting married this year) let us in on a fantastic secret of relationship-hood that Mr. Grumpy and I decided to give a try. Each week, they alternate who’s turn it is to plan a date. Then, that person gets to plan exactly what they want to do on a date (and are in charge of paying for said activities). The other person can’t say no, too, which is nice because you can’t always agree on things you like to do.

So, Mr. Grumpy and I started implementing this into our weeks, too, and we’re having so much fun. One week, Mr. Grumpy took me to the Zoo, and when it was his turn this week again to plan a date, the best words to ever come out of his mouth … came out of his mouth, “I’m taking you on your crab leg date.” I was so excited. Why? I love crab legs. For multiple reasons. First – you don’t feel guilty when you drown your crabby meat into the bucket ‘o’ butter. Why? Well, because you had to work so hard at getting the meat out of the shell that you deserve the butter. Second – you get a bib and it’s perfectly acceptable to wear it in public. Third – people are always shocked that, being the petite gal that I am, I can down a whole pound of crab legs. The truth is that I can – and do – and really if we’re being honest, I can pretty much down up to two pounds. I’ve never attempted more than two, so I’ll keep you updated on that threshold.

Let’s go back to that bib – because let’s be honest, I really rocked that:

Image

Image

So, this week I am in charge of the date. And boy are we going to have a GREAT time. I signed Mr. Grumpy and I up for a sunset kayak tour at Whiskey Island. Lately, the weather has been so great in Cleveland that it is really just hard to stay inside. Also, I thought … WHAT could be more romantic than struggling to keep your boat straight on the great, great Lake Erie. So, if I survive the tour, I’ll share more on that next week. If you want to just go for it and book your own tour, we booked through 41 North: https://kayak41north.com/.

What are your tricks to keeping your love flame a’burnin’?

Well, you know how they say the way to a man’s heart is through good food – so, obviously, I’m going to share with you what I made for Mr. Grumpy for dinner tonight. I am not a huge fan of pork – but Mr. G loves it, and was so excited to see it in our Fresh Fork bag this week. So, I channeled my dad and made Mr. Grumpy DS’ famous, lip-smackin’ good fried pork chops. My dad always makes this amazing mushroom gravy to go on top of the ‘chops, but we skipped that tonight because we also skipped our workout this weekend, so I didn’t really feel like we deserved gravy. But, what I was MOST excited about was the coleslaw-esque salad I made to go with the porkchops.

Quickly, here’s how you make DS’ lip-smackin’ good fried pork chops:

  1. Make sure you get really thin chops. OR if you didn’t, like ours were pretty thick, just make sure to pound them down so they’re very thin. Like a half inch.
  2. Season your chops – I used smoked paprika, ground pepper, salt, and smoked chipotle pepper. I wanted them kind of BBQ-y. DS’ seasoning is really skilled and he always puts lots of yummy spices on it, but we aren’t ever really sure what goes on there so I can’t really help you with that part.
  3. Dip your chop in a beaten egg, and then in flour. Then, plop it into a hot pan with canola oil that’s been heated. If you don’t like eggs, you can skip that part but it helps make a nice crust!
  4. Fry those babies up ’til they’re nice and brown.

Ok – I know that’s not a very helpful recipe, but if you really want good fried pork chops, you’ll just have to wait until the next Sunday dinner that DS is cooking up because his are really the best. Mine were yummy, but just not the same.

BUT – my salad was seriously good, so let’s get to cooking that now. We were really lucky this week to get a ton of yummy, unique produce in our Fresh Fork – like radishes, MORE fresh strawberries (I made strawberry banana cream bread last week that was amazing. The recipe is here, but I added a banana to the mix: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/strawberries–n–cream-bread), and some things that I and Mr. Grumpy literally had never seen nor heard of before. That includes kohlrabi. So, it looks like a space ship dropped it off in some farmer’s crop-circled farm. It really is strange. But when I cut it open and tasted it, I thought, “Man! This would make really yummy coleslaw.” So, that’s what I did.

Cari’s Southwest Ranch Coleslaw/Kick-Butt Salad

Image

What You’ll Need:

  • 1/2 of the round part of the kohlrabi, cut into small, long pieces (“shredded,” if you will)
  • 5 radishes, shredded
  • 5 green onions, chopped
  • 2 stalks of celery, finely chopped
  • 1/2 bundle of bibb lettuce, shredded (especially the inner “heart”)
  • 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup ranch dressing (we’ve been using the kind made from Greek yogurt!)
  • 1/4 tsp ground smoked chipotle pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black ground pepper

First, chop all your veggies and put them in the bowl. Next, in a separate bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients to make the sauce. Then, pour it over the veggies and toss. Add more pepper, if needed. Cover and refrigerate for about 30 minutes. It was seriously the best side dish to go with our pork chops. Although, the meal really got me missing my Sunday night dinners at home on the Steiner Ranch! I think a FIndlay trip will be a necessity pretty soon! 🙂

What meals remind you of home? Make it a great week, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Cari Loves Crab Legs

Leave a Reply

