Weeknight Dinner: Tomato-Basil Soup with Tortellini

When I woke up for work Wednesday morning, I was absolutely ecstatic. For the first time in about 2 years, I didn’t wake up drench in sweat with my hair the size of orphan Annie’s after an lightening storm in 100 percent humidity (in which the lightening strikes the hair…). Picturing that? Ok… that’s what I look like in the morning. Now, I would like to think that I wake up looking like a Disney princess, but let’s just be honest with one another. Mornings are a very scary place for me. And therefore, an even scarier place for Mr. Grumpy. Now, on this particular morning I realized that summer was almost over. There was a crisp bite to the air, and I was ready for boots and sweaters. So, it only felt natural that I make soup for dinner. Because I’ve been in hot flash mode (not really) since May. And I deserve a nice, steamy bowl of soup. However, I have had zero time in my after-work life lately – meaning soup from scratch was NOT an option. Training for the half marathon has officially taken over, and so, Mr. Grumpy and I have pretty much been doing simple dinners – Kraft mac ‘n’ cheese, oatmeal, shredded chicken or turkey sammies, peanut butter… anything that’s easy and can be reheated for a few days is what we’ve been eating basically. So, while I was grocery shopping, I thought up this super easy recipe and could not wait to come home and eat it. If you are short of time but still want something wholesome, steamy and good – this is your dinner. In just 25 minutes, you’ll have yourself a delicious bowl of soup and can sit back, relax and stretch out your legs. IMG_2885 What You’ll Need:

  • 2 cans tomato soup (Watch the sodium on this. We buy a low-sodium soup to make sure we don’t get overloaded)
  • 1/2 cup fresh, chopped basil
  • 1 cup three-cheese tortellini (not the frozen kind)
  • 1 can of Hunt’s fire-roasted diced tomatoes, drained
  • Parmesean cheese for sprinkling

Yes, I’m serious. This is all you need. It’s really that easy. Ok – here we go. First, put on your jammies. You want to be comfortable when your soup is ready, right? SO GET ON THOSE SWEAT PANTS! Next, in a large pot, heat the tomato soup (prepare as directed on the can. We used a soup that didn’t require milk or water) with the drained diced tomatoes over medium heat until simmering. Add the tortellini and 1/4 cup of basil. Cover and turn the heat to medium-low. Let that simmer for 30 minutes, until the tortellini are plump and softened. Depending on the type of tortellini you’re using, it may take less than 30 minutes, so keep checking on then to make sure you don’t over-cook them. Then, the soup is done. Really. That’s it. Separate into soup bowls and garnish with a sprinkle of basil and parmesean cheese. Curl up on that couch. And enjoy!  Related articles

Weeknight Dinner: Spaghetti Squash with Cheesy Chicken Meatballs
Weeknight Dinner: Cheesy Corn on the Cob with Spicy Jalapeno Garlic Butter
Weeknight Dinner: Lo-Cal Chipotle Bean Burritos
Weeknight Dinner: Zucchini Taco Boats
2 thoughts on “Weeknight Dinner: Tomato-Basil Soup with Tortellini

Leave a Reply

