Weeknight Dinner: Cheesy Corn on the Cob with Spicy Jalapeno Garlic Butter

IMG_2672
Going home to Findlay for the Fourth of July reminded me of just how much I love the taste of corn on the cob. It does make me very anxious when the corn gets stuck in my teeth. I also tend to get kernels everywhere when I eat corn on the cob, so it’s definitely not a first-date food for me. Not that I’ll be going on any first dates in the near future (right, Mr. Grumpy???!?!?!). Right…

So, when Mr. Grumpy and I went to the West Side Market this weekend, you better believe we picked up some corn. It must be a great corn season because man were these ears huge and yellow. I couldn’t wait to eat them, but I felt like they were too perfect to just BOIL. So, I found this recipe on the Food Network for cheesy corn on the cob, and I adapted it. Now, Mr. Grumpy and I love cheese. I think you probably know that by now. And as such, we have to be careful about consuming TOO much. But, I think that we deserved a little cheese on this evening – and so. Do. You.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 ears of corn on the cob
  • 1/4 cup jalapeno jack cheese (we use the Helluva Good brand)
  • 8 tbsp butter substitute spread
  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • 1/4 jalapeno
  • 1 green onion
  • 4 cloves of garlic

First, boil 4 quarts of water with sugar in it. This is a trick my sister Julie taught me. It makes the sweet corn even sweeter. It’s definitely optional, but I say go for it. Live a little…

Take the husks of the corn, and snap each ear in half. Once the water is boiling, place the corn in the water and cover with a lid. Turn the heat down to medium-low, and let that simmer for about 10 minutes.

In a food processor, put butter, jalapeno, green onion and garlic. Pulse until its combined well. Spoon into a tupperware container, and place in the fridge to let it harden slightly.

When the corn is done, place it onto a small plate. Spread the butter mixture over the corn and sprinkle the cheese on top. Sprinkle with salt & pepper to taste. And enjoy the cheesy goodness. I made quite the mess when I ate mine (per usual). YUM! We had ours with some chicken wings we got at the Market – best dinner ever.

One thing to note – you’ll have butter left over. But don’t fret – you can reuse it to spice up your baked potatoes, dinner rolls, pasta, toast (maybe?) and so much more.

Related articles

My First Race + Spicy Cilantro Lime Chicken Tenders
Mr. Grumpy Loves Doing Dishes (especially after I make Enchilada Pie)
Weeknight Dinner: Captain America’s Super Punch Salad
One thought on “Weeknight Dinner: Cheesy Corn on the Cob with Spicy Jalapeno Garlic Butter

  1. Julie says:

    This delicious corn on the menu at tonight’s dinner party at the ranch. Absolutely delicious. Who knew you could make corn on the cob even better?! Nice work CJ!

    Like

Leave a Reply

