Mr. Grumpy Loves Doing Dishes (especially after I make Enchilada Pie)

When Mr. Grumpy and I first started dating, he took me to dinner at his parent's house and we made homemade pasta with Mr. Grumpy's mom. Needless to say, I made quite the mess (per usual). Mr. O.G. (the original grumpy) let me in on the deal he has agreed to – when Mr. Grumpy's mom cooks dinner, Mr. OG is in charge of the dishes. This was an excellent idea. The kind of idea I needed in my home. Why? I hate dishes. The idea of touching other people's leftover food skeeves me out. Also, Mr. Grumpy's dinner specialties include Chef Boyardee and one Campbell's Soup recipe (that's actually not too shabby). So, with me in charge of dinner most nights, it was really quite the perfect plan. 

The only issue? Mr. Grumpy has a tendancy to be a little pokey. In fact, one time I timed Mr. G at doing the dishes, and in the time I took a shower, dried my massive 15 pounds of hair (thanks DS), plucked my eyebrows and repainted my toes – aka, 2 hours, Mr. Grumpy was STILL doing the dishes. I just about lost it.

How could it take one SO long to do the dishes? Mr. G will blame it on how messy I am while I cook. I am going to point out that I think it's more likely the fact that while he's doing the dishes, he checks his Twitter, eats cheese, checks his sports and CNN apps for breaking sports news (save us all), plays Rollercoaster Tycoon, wanders around, takes a bathroom break, drinks water, stands staring completely into space for several minutes… I wish I were joking. But, I've learned to be patient and just let Mr. Grumpy do his thing. Especially because if you DON'T let him do his thing, this is what happens:

IMG_2657

Yep, that's a knife. (Mr. Grumpy would like me to point out the amount of dishes on the counter. Sorry, Mr. G. I never promised to be tidy!)

 So, tonight after I used up probably every single one of our dishes and most definitely all of our measuring cups making Suzie Q's FAMOUS Enchilada Pie, I decided to give Mr. G a break and keep quiet about his dish-doing. 

Now, Enchilada Pie was a staple in my house growing up. Suzie Q really knew the way to our hearts with this one. It's so delicious you're going to want an extra slice (or five), and frankly I'm not going to judge you. It's also super easy to make ahead and then cook the day of, if you're having a busy week. So, let's get cooking so Mr. Grumpy can get to the dishes sooner rather than later.
IMG_2653

What You'll Need:

  • 1 lb ground turkey 
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 small white onion, chopped
  • 1 cup sweet red peppers, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 15 oz. tomato, chopped
  • 1/3 cup enchilada sauce (we were all out of this today, so I used taco sauce)
  • 1 can of sweet corn
  • 1 can of chopped green chilies
  • 10 white corn tortillas (the small ones)
  • 2 cups shredded, low-fat colby jack cheese
  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • Greek yogurt (to dollup on top like sour cream!)

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Next, heat your olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add your peppers and onions and cook for about 5 minutes, until softened. Next, add your turkey meat and cook until it's all the way done. Add cumin and stir. Add tomato, green chilies, enchilada/taco sauce and taco seasoning. Let that simmer for 10 minutes. Add corn (Suzie Q also adds black olives, but Mr G doesn't like those, so I omitted that). 
IMG_2646

Now, it's time to make the pie!! In a small baking dish, spray non-stick cooking spray. Then, place tortillas to coat the bottom. Spoon the sauce (aka, the meat mixture) on top of the tortillas, and then sprinkle with cheese. Add another layer of tortillas, sauce and cheese. Do this until you run out of stuff (mine made two layers exactly today, but it'll depend on how big of a pan you use). 
IMG_2648

Cover with aluminum foil. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes. Remove the foil and cook for an additional 5 minutes until cheese is bubbly. When you serve it, sprinkle some lettuce and a dollup of greek yogurt on top. And ohmygosh, enjoy that. It's going to melt in your mouth. Touche, mom. 

4 thoughts on “Mr. Grumpy Loves Doing Dishes (especially after I make Enchilada Pie)

  1. Julie says:

    Good grief girl. Good chefs cook neatly! Keep it tidy as you go girlie. You can do it, just a little tweeks to texhnoque and Mr Grumpy won’t again point his light sabre at you

    Like

Leave a Reply

