Happy National Running Day + I’ve Got a Fixin’ for Huevos Rancheros

First of all… Happy National Running Day! I started the day at 6:30 a.m. with a 3.33 mile run with my friend Melissa (blogging over at icrashedtheweb.com about our awesome run today). Yes, this actually happened. For those of you who know I don't do mornings… I did one today.

Jillian Michaels said this, and it's been a huge inspiration for me – Cari, who last year could hardly finish a mile. Now, just in one week, I've run more than 10 miles (2.75 on Monday, 4.12 on Tuesday and 3.33 today). I'm actually having a moment here, and yes, bragging a little. But this has been such a struggle, and I feel really amazing that now I'm able to do something that I've never been able to do before. The result? My friend Kelsey and I signed up for the Rock 'N' Run Half Marathon in October. That's right. I said HALF MARATHON – which I heard was like 13.1 miles, but I don't really want to think about that right now… My feet hurt from kicking so much ass.

Anyway, on to talking about food. One of my favorite, favorite, favorite things to eat when I visit my family in Colorado is Huevos Rancheros. In fact, the last time I went for a visit, my sister made several fat jokes as I downed my THIRD day in a row eating Huevos Rancheros. Much deserved. But still, I was not ashamed. You can't get that here in Ohio. You especially shouldn't get it if you go to ChiChi's or any of the Mexican restaurants in Findlay (which surprisingly are all owned by the same Italian family. I am not joking). I digress…

So, for those of you who don't have the money to just fly out West whenever you get a good breakfast craving, this recipe for at-home Huevos Rancheros is going to rock your world. I just made it up, based on what I'd had in my native state. Kim Kardashian and Kanye, if you're reading my blog, I'm sure you can probably skip making it at home and just fly to Mexico for the afternoon. (Ah, the life). Kim, actually that's really bad advice I just gave you, since I'm pretty sure you can't fly when you're that preggers. Anyway… 

IMG_2480

Mr. Grumpy was really excited about this one for two reasons. A) Usually I substitute the sausage for turkey or chicken sausage. Which he is usually pretty grumpy about (where's the REAL meat… Uhh, that is real meat, Mr. Grumpy). And B) He loves breakfast for dinner (even though he also asked if we could have pancakes, to which I replied, "You're joking, right?"). Also, I had been hyping up this dinner for about a week so there were extremely high expectations.

NOTE: This recipe calls for one-half of a chopped jalapeno. When you chop up your jalapeno, take a moment and wash your hands. I was feeling real cocky and thought I was above washing my hands after cutting up a jalapeno. A jalapeno for god's sake, Cari. Like really? You thought you were above this? Yeah, I know. Listen. I was having a kitchen diva moment. So, I did not wash them but merely wiped them off briefly on my paper towel. So, after enjoying my Huevos Rancheros, taking a shower and getting snuggly on the couch, I noticed this terrible burning feeling on my fingers. All of them. Especially my thumbs. Immediately, I knew I had a flesh eating bacteria and I was going to be without hands in about an hour. So that's what I started Googling, obviously. And screaming, "MR. GRUMPY. WHY DON'T YOU CARE! I'm going to lose my hands! I will never be able to write again! I AM DYING!" To which Mr. Grumpy replied, "I am certain you're fine. Do you want some ice?" He actually was extremely displeased with my chaos, as I was interupting his STUPID awesome TV show about buying Alaska or whatever it is they're doing. So, he asked me if I burned it on the oven, to which I said no. Then, he asked if I washed my hands after cooking the jalapeno, to which I said," NO! I JUST CAUGHT THIS OUT OF NOWHERE! SOMEONE PROBABLY HAD IT AT WORK AND NOW I HAVE IT." So, he started Googling something obviously not as smart as my Googling "death from flesh-eating bacteria." At this point, I was pretty sure it was over for me. Until Mr. Grumpy told me to come to the kitchen, as he had the cure.

For the record, if you do not wash your hands after cutting a jalapeno, it doesn't form a bacteria… it just really, really hurts. So, the cure? Take 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and mix it with 1 tbsp of sugar. Rub the mixture all over your burned area (aka, my fingers in this situation). Who knew that Mr. Grumpy would come so in handy? He found all of this on the Internet, although he was still really displeased when all of a sudden my fingers felt better, and I had changed the channel to watch TLC.

Ok, so you've been warned. Also, do not ever Google "flesh eating bacteria." You will never be the same.

Now, let's get cooking!

What You'll Need:

  • 1/2 can of Bush's Brothers Bush's Black Bean Fiesta, drained and rinsed slightly
  • 1/2 can of unsalted sweet corn, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can of fire roasted garlic diced tomatoes
  • 1 can diced green chilies
  • 1/3 cup red, orange and yellow sweet peppers
  • 1/2 jalapeno, deseeded and chopped 
  • 1/2 lb (about three sausage links) chorizo sausage
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tbsp cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 4 Mr. Tortilla uncooked soft tortilla shells (taco size); or your favorite brand of small soft tortilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of Helluva Good Monterey Jack Cheese with Jalapeno

First, preheat your oven to 350. Now, chop up all your veggies. Wash your hands. Seriously. Do it. In a strainer, combine the black beans and corn. Drain and rinse. Add the tomatoes. DO NOT RINSE. Set aside. 

In a medium pan, heat your olive oil over medium-high heat. Take the chorizo out of the sausage casings, and add into the pan with the oregano. Cook chorizo all the way through (about 10 minutes). Remove the chorizo from the pan, and set aside. Drain your pan slightly, leaving about 1 tbsp of the juice from the sausage. Add onions and garlic, and cook for an additional 5 minutes until you can smell the garlic and your onions are see-through. Add the peppers, and cook for 3 more minutes. Add the chorizo back in. Add in the black bean mixture with the tomatoes and corn and cilantro. Let that cook for another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove your pan from the stove heat, but keep your burner on. Take your tortilla and, over medium heat, place it directly on the burner. If you're using uncooked tortillas like we were, let it sit on each side for about 20 seconds. Do this for all four tortillas. If you're using already cooked tortillas, which is more likely, only put them on the burner for about 5-10 seconds on each side.

Spray an individual deep dish (you can use anything you can put in the oven with high sides) with olive oil cooking spray. Scoop out about 1/4 cup of the black bean/chorizo mixture to cover the bottom of each dish. Place two tortillas on top to completely cover, and put about 1 additional small scoop of black bean mixture on top. Crack your two eggs over the dish, gently letting the eggs rest on the top. Careful, careful, careful not to break the yolk. Sprinkle the top with cheese.

Place your dishes in the oven, and bake for 14-15 minutes, careful not to overcook the eggs. Now, don't worry. If you DO overcook the eggs, just scoop them off the top, make a fried egg in a pan really quick and replace it. Listen people. No one's perfect. Ok? Great. Now that we've had this talk, go forth and eat your Huevos Rancheros! Eiyiy! 

IMG_2495

3 thoughts on “Happy National Running Day + I’ve Got a Fixin’ for Huevos Rancheros

  1. Heartonthehill says:

    The score on this one stands as follows…
    Colorado: 10 for inspiration
    Mr G: 7 for googling skillz and enjoying bkfst for dinner
    Cari Jeanne: *sigh*… This one is complicated…
    5 for the native land shout out
    2 for attempting to recreate the native land’s food east of the Mississippi
    -10 for not washing your hands (even I know that)
    -7 for googling “flesh-eating bacteria” (again, eveni know that)
    Total for cj: -5
    You can make up points by coming out here and making me these for me. Okgreatthx. Lymi šŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

