Weeknight Dinner: Seared Tuna Avocado Salsa Salad

Mr. Grumpy was lucky enough to go to the Indians game Monday night, and watch from his company's super swanky suite which comes with free food… while I sat at home nursing my sore throat and trying to eat the first solid food of the day. But, I couldn't help but take advantage of the fact that he was gone, so I got to eat seafood. I checked in on the one seafood I knew of that would slide easily down my sore throat – seared tuna. YUM. 

I adapted this recipe again…from Cooking Light's May issue. Lord. I know. I am literally making every recipe in this issue. They probably don't like me sharing all these recipes, but alas – I just can't not share them. They're so good.

IMG_2143

What You'll Need:

  • 1/2 cup of grape tomatoes, cut into quarters
  • 1/2 cup of red onions, sliced not chopped (I cut it into quarters, and cut really thin slices)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cilantro
  • Juice from 1/2 lime
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 avocado, peeled and diced
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, take out all the seeds, and cut into small pieces 
  • 2 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 2 tuna steaks (I bought mine frozen from the seafood counter –  they were Yellowfish Tuna steaks … I think, and just soaked them in plastic in a pot full of hot water until they were thawed. This keeps them super fresh until you're ready to eat)

First, combine all the ingredients together in a small bowl, except for the soy sauce, brown sugar and the tuna steaks. Next, in a small mixing bowl, combine the soy sauce and the brown sugar. Stir that until the sugar is dissolved.

Next, take a grill pan (I finally figured out what that was called!!) and heat it over the stove on high heat. Spray it with cooking spray while it's heating. Next, drizzle half of the soy sauce mixture on your tuna steaks, on both sides. Reserve the rest of the soy sauce for when everything is done. 

Now, place your tuna steaks on your grill pan and cook on each side about 1 minute and 45 seconds. Be careful because you really don't want to overcook the tuna – it will get hard and gross, and the Chopped judges will get mad at you and make you feel like a super idiot. I had never made seared tuna before, so I erred on the side of caution and did 1 minute and 30 seconds on each side, checked the tuna, and then cooked and additional 15 seconds more on each side. You definitely don't want to turn down your pan because you really want the edge of your tuna to be crusty and yummy. 

Cut up the tuna, with the grain. Place about 1/2 of the salad you made on your plate, and put the tuna slices on top of it. Drizzle the remaining soy sauce evenly over both steaks on each plate (I made one plate and saved one in a tupperware for lunch later this week), and toss so everything is coated. And enjoy!! 

Leave a Reply

