Sunday Dinner: Slow Cooker Crock Pot Spicy Jalapeno Mac N Cheese

When Mr Grumpy and I first started dating, we had a pre-date "lets hang out together with a larger group of people because I like you but haven't asked you on an official date" to celebrate St. Patty's Day OU-style at their annual Ohio University-sponsored St. Pat's in the Flats party. A few days prior to the date, I came down with a terrible virus – a sore throat, a fever, all that good stuff. Basically, I was really disappointed. So, when my Strep Test came back clear, I decided I would just pop a few Motrin, and stick it out, and attend the pre-date with Mr. G. Plus, I couldn't cancel on him now. He was LITERALLY never going to ask me out, so I just could not cancel.

So, I picked him up (I know, very bold) and was so nervous/delirious that I ended up driving the wrong way down a one-way street. But, at the end of the long day of enjoying some OU-themed drinks at the bar, we smooched a bit (classy, right?) and I gave him my virus (I know, this is probably TMI for you all) (this is likely where Mr. G realized he just COULD NOT LIVE WITHOUT ME. You're welcome, Mr. G.) Needless to say, Mr. G missed an entire week of work (and has not missed work since – and that was more than two years ago).

Well, this weekend, he finally got his revenge. He got a cold – which NEVER happens because he literally never gets sick (he claims this is because "he eats dirt"). I catch everything. So naturally, Friday night, I started feeling that weird feeling in my throat. After asking Mr. G three million times, "Are you SURE you don't have a cold?" because he kept claiming he just had to change his contacts…? I discovered I had indeed caught his cold. And boy did I catch it bad. So, after having to cancel my special dinner with my big Shannon, I attempted to make dinner in my crock pot. And I thought, if I make this super spicy, then maybe it will clear out my head and burn off all the germs inside of me (it didn't but it was still super tasty).


IMG_2140
I adapted this recipe from Trisha Yearwood's recipe from the Food Network which was just for slow-cooker mac n cheese. Now, it is important to note I cooked this completely while sitting down. I don't know why that's important to note, but I felt you'd be more impressed with me if I told you that.

What You'll Need:

  • Cooking spray
  • 8 ounces cooked pasta (we did the rest of our campanelle pasta and a bit of farfalle, because that's what we had)
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup melted unsalted butter
  • 1 can of evaporated milk (12 oz.)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 10-oz brick of Sharp Cheddar Cheese, part-skim, shredded
  • 1 10-oz brick of Monterey Jack Cheese with Jalapeno (Helluva Good brand)
  • 1/2 jalapeno, chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • Some shredded cheese to sprinkle at the end (about 1/4 cup)

Spray your large crock pot with cooking spray, getting all the sides. Put the macaroni, jalapeno, evaporated milk, milk, butter, salt, pepper, eggs, all the cheese and paprika into the crock pot (basically everything). Stir. Cover, and cook on low heat for 3 hours. Remove the lid, and sprinkle a bit of cheddar cheese on top (we used some Fat Free Shredded Cheddar Cheese that I had in the fridge). Let that cook uncovered for an addition 5-10 minutes, until the cheese is melty. 

And voila! Super easy mac n cheese with a kick. It did not get rid of my cold, but it was interesting learning to cook sitting down. Mr. G had to drain the pasta, since that was very dangerous for me to do sitting down… He's such a good sous chef. 

Leave a Reply

