Weeknight Dinner: The Quick Fix Taco Cupcake

I know what you're thinking. Taco cupcakes, Cari? That sounds disgusting! Mr. G didn't really get it either. Except that when I was done making them, and he'd eaten 3 cupcakes, I could tell (even through his grumpy facade) that I had won this round. And, since I made them, he's asked me to make them 3 more times, and it's only been a week. 

IMG_2031

So, if you're ever in a crunch and can't think of anything to make for dinner, this is your quick fix. Usually I have all these items already in my fridge, so when I was in a time crunch last week, I knew exactly what to make. I saw these on Pinterest (omg, Cari – do you do anything but PIN things? No, not really…) and even though I couldn't find a recipe anywhere that I was excited about, I improvised and made this up. 

What You'll Need:

  • 2 cans of Pillsbury crecent roll dough (the kind w/o seams)
  • 1 lb ground turkey (or you can do ground beef)
  • 1 taco seasoning packet
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 can of Rotel tomatoes 
  • 1 can of Mexi-corn
  • 1/4 cup cilantro
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 can of green chiles 
  • 1/4 cup enchilada sauce
  • Whatever else you like putting on your tacos (to each his own)… 

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Now, we're going to make the cups first that will hold your tacos. So, take out your cupcake tin, and flip it upside down so the bumpy part is bumping OUT. Then, take your dough out of the can, and separate it into equal pieces. Shape those pieces over each cupcake bump, until you have covered each one. You want to make sure that the sides are even, and that they are all sealed all the way around. 

Then, bake in the oven for 10 minutes, until slightly golden. You want them a bit undone, because you're going to put them back in the oven at the end. Trust me on this one…

In the meantime, brown your ground turkey until it's cooked all the way through. Drain, and add in the taco seasoning, as it says to on the packet. Add onions and green chiles. You could also add jalapenos, but we didn't think about that… Chop up your cilantro, and set it aside.

Remove your cupcake tin from the oven and carefully, and slowly, remove the crescent bowls from each bump. Now, you've got BOWLS for your taco meat. BRILLIANT CARI.. I know. You can thank me later (or thank Pinterest). 

Fill your bowls that way you would your taco – meat, enchilada sauce, black beans, scoop of Rotel tomatoes, corn and cheese. Once all the bowls are filled, place it back in the oven and bake for 5-6 more minutes, until your cheese is melted. Sprinkle with cilantro and dip in plain greek yogurt, and enjoy!  

One thought on “Weeknight Dinner: The Quick Fix Taco Cupcake

Leave a Reply

