Sick Day Alert: Comforting Noodle Soup

It just so happens that I caught the stomach bug that is flying around my office like wildfire. As such, I've been home sick for the past two days trying to find something that will settle my stomach. Yeah, you've been there before. You feel like crap, you walk into the kitchen, and see you have nothing but Ginger Ale and a block of colby jack cheese, and you panic.

My momma (whom we fondly call Suzie Q) always told me that, when I'm sick, to make sure I drink lots of liquids (… right?) and she always fed me yummy, homemade chicken soup. Well, I didn't have any chicken (unless you count the chicken from my enchiladas last night…) so I improvised. You can too! 

IMG_1821

Note that this is a quick 15-minute recipe for just ONE bowl of soup. 

Here's what you'll need:

  • 1 1/2 cups low-fat chicken broth (give or take)
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 heaping spoonful (about 1 1/4 tbsp) flour 
  • Cut up carrots – about 1/4 cup
  • 1/4 cup white onion, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dill 
  • 1/4 cup green onions 
  • 1/2 cup whole grain rotini (I used Barilla Whole Grain Rotini)

Cari's Note: You can also add in celery, but we didn't have any, so it was left out today. If you have a can of shredded, cooked chicken – you can add that in too! Literally, just pop whatever you find in your fridge and it'll be fine. (Ok, not really. Like don't put in beets. Or nacho cheese… Don't put in olives. That would be gross as well… well, you get it.) 

Directions:

Melt the butter in a medium sauce pan (like one you'd heat up soup with). Then, throw in the onions and cook on medium-low about 4 minutes until they are translucent. Then, add flour and stir constantly for about 2 minutes. Slowly whisk in the chicken broth until smooth. Continue whisking, and add in carrots and all the spices. Bring it to a low, calm boil (medium heat), and add in the noodles. Cook about 12 minutes, stirring with your whisk frequently. Once the noodles are cooked, you're all done! Grab a coffee cub and pour in the soup. Add the green onions on top, grab your Ginger Ale and a spoon and hit the couch. You're ready for some stomach bug soother.

Some friendly notes:

Let me just say, eating soup out of a coffee cup when you're sick is the best. Some people have fancy bowls that come with thumb holes, but I have this Austin mug that does just fine, thank you.

I adapted this recipe from Suzie Q's homemade chicken noodle soup, which I will share with you the next time I make it! It's the best (mom's always is, duh!). But in the meantime, this should calm you into a nice nap and hopefully ease your tummy a bit.

Mr. G's note: He would like everyone to know that we are NOT Longhorn fans. We root for the Bobcats. Don't get it twisted. It's just a nice mug, perfect for sicktime eating on the couch. 

Leave a Reply

